Standby Systems (STBS)

£845 + VAT
3 Days
York and Slough.
Course Overview
This City & Guilds accredited course covers the key elements involved with the choice use and maintenance of Standby systems. The course provides an increased understanding of the Standby system types and topologies. The Safe Systems element incorporates a tried and tested methodology with references to the JSP Safe Systems of Work, which can be adopted to the learner's own application.
Who is This Course For?
This course is aimed at the Authorised Person, engineer and technician seeking an overview of Standby systems. The course includes technical detail from manufacturers and OEMs and safe procedures referenced from HSE and other best practice libraries (including JSP)
Start Date End Date Location Price (Ex. Vat)
Tue, 31st August 2021 Thu, 2nd September 2021 York £845
Tue, 5th October 2021 Thu, 7th October 2021 Slough £845
Mon, 8th November 2021 Wed, 10th November 2021 York £845
Tue, 18th January 2022 Thu, 20th January 2022 York £845
Tue, 1st March 2022 Thu, 3rd March 2022 Slough £845
Tue, 8th March 2022 Thu, 10th March 2022 York £845
Tue, 26th April 2022 Thu, 28th April 2022 Slough £845

Day Morning Afternoon
One
  • Course Introduction
  • Uses and Types
  • Regulations and Guidelines
  • Generators, UPS, Fuel and Batteries
  • Generators (Operation)
  • Generator Practical Identity
  • Rotary and DRUPS
  • UPS
Two
  • Protection and Earthing
  • Technical Information
  • Paralleling Syncing
  • Rectifiers and Inverters
  • Safe Isolation
  • Practical Isolation Exercise
Three
  • Maintenance Practices with Fuel Storage
  • Specific Industry Requirements and Guidelines
  • Course Summary
  • Technical Assessment
  • Generators
  • UPS
  • Topologies
  • Safe working practices
  • Isolation
  • Regulations
  • Compliances
  • Roles of personnel
  • Background and evolution of Standby systems
  • Maintenance
Prior to attending this course we recommend you have the following:
Everything you require for this course is provided
Course Training Team

staffImage

Ian Bryant

Senior Electrical Training Consultant

Ian is a Senior Electrical Training Consultant with over 20 years experience served at RAF Fylingdales. During this time he was an Authorised Person with duties in Mechanical and Electrical disciplines. Ian has also held positions within the commercial and industrial sectors as an Engineer, Project Manager and Lead Engineer.


Request More Information
We'll never share your details with anyone else.
The majority of our images were taken pre-covid and do not replicate the control measures we currently have in place