Your Basket
You don't have any
courses in your basket.
If these changes cause any issues, you can contact our team to discuss your options.
Our opening hours are Monday - Thursday 8:30am - 5:30pm | Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm
 Live Chat
 info@ppltraining.co.uk  0333 121 1215

Authorised Person Electrical Low Voltage (APLV)

£1,245 + VAT
4 Days
York,   Slough,   Livingston and On-site.
Course Overview
The City & Guilds Assured Authorised Person Electrical Low Voltage course will enable you to gain the knowledge required to carry out Authorised Person duties and responsibilities in order to achieve compliance with the requirements of the Electricity at Work Regulations 1989, using JSP375 as the reference for safe procedures.

Please note we have the ability to offer this course on-site at client premises and on a bespoke basis.
Who is This Course For?
This course is aimed at experienced engineering staff within the MOD and Commercial sectors who may have responsibility for the control, operation or maintenance of installed low voltage systems and who may be appointed as Authorised Person (Electrical Low Voltage).
Start Date End Date Location Price (Ex. Vat)
Mon, 11th March 2024 Thu, 14th March 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 11th March 2024 Thu, 14th March 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 11th March 2024 Thu, 14th March 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 18th March 2024 Thu, 21st March 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 18th March 2024 Thu, 21st March 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 25th March 2024 Thu, 28th March 2024 Slough £ 1245
Tue, 2nd April 2024 Fri, 5th April 2024 York £ 1245
Tue, 2nd April 2024 Fri, 5th April 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 8th April 2024 Thu, 11th April 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 8th April 2024 Thu, 11th April 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 15th April 2024 Thu, 18th April 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 15th April 2024 Thu, 18th April 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 22nd April 2024 Thu, 25th April 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 22nd April 2024 Thu, 25th April 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 29th April 2024 Thu, 2nd May 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 29th April 2024 Thu, 2nd May 2024 Slough £ 1245
Tue, 7th May 2024 Fri, 10th May 2024 Slough £ 1245
Tue, 7th May 2024 Fri, 10th May 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 13th May 2024 Thu, 16th May 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 13th May 2024 Thu, 16th May 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 13th May 2024 Thu, 16th May 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 20th May 2024 Thu, 23rd May 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 20th May 2024 Thu, 23rd May 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 20th May 2024 Thu, 23rd May 2024 Slough £ 1245
Tue, 28th May 2024 Fri, 31st May 2024 Slough £ 1245
Tue, 28th May 2024 Fri, 31st May 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 3rd June 2024 Thu, 6th June 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 3rd June 2024 Thu, 6th June 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 10th June 2024 Thu, 13th June 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 10th June 2024 Thu, 13th June 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 17th June 2024 Thu, 20th June 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 24th June 2024 Thu, 27th June 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 24th June 2024 Thu, 27th June 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 24th June 2024 Thu, 27th June 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 1st July 2024 Thu, 4th July 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 8th July 2024 Thu, 11th July 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 8th July 2024 Thu, 11th July 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 15th July 2024 Thu, 18th July 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 22nd July 2024 Thu, 25th July 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 22nd July 2024 Thu, 25th July 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 29th July 2024 Thu, 1st August 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 29th July 2024 Thu, 1st August 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 12th August 2024 Thu, 15th August 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 12th August 2024 Thu, 15th August 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 12th August 2024 Thu, 15th August 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 19th August 2024 Thu, 22nd August 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 19th August 2024 Thu, 22nd August 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 26th August 2024 Thu, 29th August 2024 York £ 1245
Tue, 27th August 2024 Fri, 30th August 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 2nd September 2024 Thu, 5th September 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 2nd September 2024 Thu, 5th September 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 9th September 2024 Thu, 12th September 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 9th September 2024 Thu, 12th September 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 16th September 2024 Thu, 19th September 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 16th September 2024 Thu, 19th September 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 23rd September 2024 Thu, 26th September 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 30th September 2024 Thu, 3rd October 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 30th September 2024 Thu, 3rd October 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 30th September 2024 Thu, 3rd October 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 7th October 2024 Thu, 10th October 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 7th October 2024 Thu, 10th October 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 14th October 2024 Thu, 17th October 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 14th October 2024 Thu, 17th October 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 21st October 2024 Thu, 24th October 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 21st October 2024 Thu, 24th October 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 21st October 2024 Thu, 24th October 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 28th October 2024 Thu, 31st October 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 28th October 2024 Thu, 31st October 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 4th November 2024 Thu, 7th November 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 4th November 2024 Thu, 7th November 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 4th November 2024 Thu, 7th November 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 11th November 2024 Thu, 14th November 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 11th November 2024 Thu, 14th November 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 18th November 2024 Thu, 21st November 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 18th November 2024 Thu, 21st November 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 25th November 2024 Thu, 28th November 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 2nd December 2024 Thu, 5th December 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 2nd December 2024 Thu, 5th December 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 2nd December 2024 Thu, 5th December 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 9th December 2024 Thu, 12th December 2024 York £ 1245
Mon, 9th December 2024 Thu, 12th December 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 16th December 2024 Thu, 19th December 2024 Livingston £ 1245
Mon, 16th December 2024 Thu, 19th December 2024 Slough £ 1245
Mon, 16th December 2024 Thu, 19th December 2024 York £ 1245

Day Morning Afternoon
One
  • Introduction
  • Electricity at Work Regulations & Dangers of Electricity
  • Low Voltage Switchgear, Protection & Earthing
  • Switchgear Walk Around
Two
  • Roles, Duties of Personnel & Documentation
  • Low Voltage Working
  • Classroom Exercise(s)
Three
  • Practical Exercise(s)
  • Review of Evening Exercise(s)
  • Practical Exercise(s)
Four
  • Practical Exercise(s)
  • Documentation Assessment(s)
  • Procedural Assessment(s)
  • Low voltage equipment including switchgear and protective devices
  • Requirements of Electricity at Work Regulations
  • Safe working practices with electricity (HSG85+JSP375)
  • Safe isolation of standby power supplies and UPS equipment
  • Roles and duties of personnel
  • Low voltage working procedures
  • Audit requirements
  • Practical exercises in completion of safety documentation and hands on implementation
  • Completion of log books and associated documentation
Prior to attending this course we recommend you have completed the following or their equivalent and possess:
Background knowledge or experience working within an electrical role.
Everything you require for this course is provided
Take a Look Around

Course Training Team

staffImage

Graham Taylor MIET

HV/LV Electrical Systems Training Manager

Graham is a HV/LV Electrical Systems Training Manager and has over 35 years experience in the electrical industry and a further 9 years teaching Safe Systems of Work courses. Graham specialises in Electrical High and Low Voltage training courses and has extensive experience which including working in the following areas: Maintenance engineer, Maintenance Management, Project Management as well as Electrical duty holder positions. Graham has worked within a wide range of different electrical roles in various different industries including the automotive, food and print sectors, where his responsibilities included electrical installations and repairs as well as managing large engineering projects. He has also carried out Electrical Authorised Person roles in both high and low voltage disciplines.

staffImage

Chris Walsh

Senior HV/LV Training Consultant

Chris is a qualified Electrical Engineer with over 21 years' experience working in the industry on High and Low Voltage systems. He has held multiple senior positions during this time including Electrical Duty Holder and Senior Authorised Person for both High and Low Voltage systems, overseeing the installation, testing and maintenance. Further to this, he has over 18 years' experience working in the training sector covering Electrical Safe Systems of Work and technical subjects.

staffImage

Steve Danby

Senior Electrical Training Consultant

Steve is a Senior Electrical Training Consultant with over 26 years experience in the electrical industry and over 14 years electrical teaching and training experience. Steve joined PPL Training in early 2014 and specialises in Electrical High and Low Voltage training courses, including electrical installations and Authorised Person for the Commercial, Healthcare and Defence sectors. Steve has worked within a wide range of different electrical roles since completing an Apprenticeship in Electrical Engineering in1990 with North Eastern Electricty Board (NEEB), more commonly known today as Northern Powergrid. His career at NEDL included working as a Craftsman on High Voltage overhead powerlines for 6 years, as well as taking up a role as a Rapid Response Faults Engineer for 4 years.

staffImage

Allan Johns

Senior HV/LV Training Consultant

Allan has been in the electrical world in various industries for around 40 years since starting as an apprentice in construction installation. He has worked within the Commercial Diving, Facilities Management, Commercial and Leisure Marine as well as the Film industry mainly based within the electrical sectors of these but also covering the safety side of these areas.

staffImage

Ian Bryant

Senior HV/LV Training Consultant

Ian is a Senior Electrical Training Consultant with over 20 years experience served at RAF Fylingdales. During this time he was an Authorised Person with duties in Mechanical and Electrical disciplines. Ian has also held positions within the commercial and industrial sectors as an Engineer, Project Manager and Lead Engineer.

staffImage

Paul Davey

Senior HV/LV Training Consultant

Paul is a highly skilled electrical engineer with extensive experience of testing, installation and maintenance of electrical equipment.


Customer Questions

Q: What is the difference between Authorised Person Low Voltage and Authorised Person Low Voltage HTM 06-02?
A: Authorised Person Low Voltage is aimed at experienced engineering staff within the MOD and Commercial sectors. The Authorised Person Low Voltage HTM 06-02 is based on the specific requirements of Health Technical Memorandum (HTM).
Q: What is an Authorised Person?
A: An Authorised Person is defined as someone who has been formally authorised in writing to undertake a role.
Need more information or have a question about this course? Click ask a question to start a chat.
Request More Information
We'll never share your details with anyone else.